Rhythm of the Dance
Video Review

.

On December 24, 2001 a short version of the Rhythm of the Dance video was aired on N3, a German TV station. Therefore my review only covers this short 60 minute version of the video. The whole video has running time of 95 minutes.

First of all, Rhythm of the Dance (ROTD) is certainly not just a copy of shows like Lord of the Dance or Riverdance. Of course a Lord of the Dance or Riverdance fan would recognize certain elements, but there is also a lot of new stuff to find. More about that later. Unfortunately the quality of the video is rather bad. Especially the sound mixing is not too good. Most of the time the "taps" are either lounder than the music or one can hardly hear them. The camera often doesnīt show what one wants to see, and that are the incredibly fast feet of lead dancer Aisling Holly. Some more close ups of those feet would be better than close ups of her face.

I canīt praise all of the numbers that are on the video either. It takes time to get used to some of the coreography, but that might also have something to do with the qualtiy of the video - as I said, one doesnīt get to see what one wants to see. Besides Irish Dancing there are also elements other dance forms like American Tap, Flamenco or balet. One especially gets to see the three balet dancers quite often. My favourite numbers were "Ceili Time in Ireland" and "Celebrating Rhythms". In "Celebrating Rhythms" the fast footed star of the show, Aisling Holly, shows her talent and I also found the idea of using wooden spoons to create additional rhytmic noises quite interesting.

Speaking of Aisling Holly: this woman is just incredibly fast. The video doesnīt really show her full talent, but one gets a good impression of what this young dancer is able to do with her feet. Unfortunately some of her (and also the other dancers') costumes are rather ugly - a matter of taste of course, but I didnīt like them. Something else that could be improved is the singing in the show. The version of "She moved through the Fair" (LOTD fans know it as "Our Wedding Day") was rather weak (sung by a woman). Maybe Iīve just seen and heard "Our Wedding Day" - sung by Anne Buckley - once too often. The male singer obviously had some problems with the higher notes in "The Great Hunger" - a weak performance. I disliked the singing, but I just loved the tin whistle playing at the end of the show!

There is not much to say about the story. I didnīt see any storyline to be honest, apart from a narration about the great famine in Ireland in the 19th century. According to the official website "the show is an inspiring epic, reliving the journey of the Irish Celts throughout history. It illuminates the influence that they had and still have on Irish society." A more detailed description of each number can be found under the following link: http://www.rhythmofthedance.com/frame-show.html.

All in all Rhythm of the Dance isnīt as bad as it might have sounded. As I already said Iīve only seen a "not so good" shortened video. Iīve also been told that the live-show is quite different compared to the video, with a lot of improvements. By the way, the video can be ordered on their official website. In a final rating it would get 3 out of 5 stars. One should go and see the show if theyīre anywhere near you.

.

Further Links:

The official website of ROTD: http://www.rhythmofthedance.com
Tourdaten on the Celtic Cafe website: http://www.celticcafe.com/Schedules/rotdeu.htm
An interview with Aisling Holly on the Celtic Cafe: http://www.celticcafe.com/shows/rotd/aisling.htm
Another review of the show:
http://www.celticcafe.com/ROTD/rhythm.html

.

Order the Rhythm of the Dance CD at Amazon.de:

Rhythm of the Dance - CD

back to the other shows

Click here to break out of someone else's frames or if you cannot see a navigation bar on the left hand side.

.

Rhythm of the Dance
Kritik zum Video

.

Am 24.12.2001 wurde eine Kurzfassung des Rhythm of the Dance Videos auf N3 im deutschen Fernsehen ausgestrahlt. Meine Kritik bezieht ich daher ausschließlich auf diese 60-Minütige Kurzfassung. Das komplette Video mit allen Stücken dauert übrigens 95 min.

Eins vorneweg, bei Ryhtm of the Dance (ROTD) handelt es sich sicherlich nicht um einen simplen Abklatsch von Lord of the Dance oder Riverdance. Sicherlich erkennt der eingefleischte LOTD oder Riverdance Fan viele Elemente wieder, jedoch ist auch einiges neues zu finden. Doch dazu später etwas mehr. Die Qualität des Videos ist leider nicht sehr hoch. Besonders die Abmischung des Sounds scheint mir nicht immer gut gelungen. Die Taps sind entweder sehr laut und übertönen die Musik oder sind eher zu leise und kaum zu hören. Auch die Kameraeinstellungen hätten teilweise besser sein können. Die Lead Tänzerin Aisling Holly wird recht oft mit Großaufnahmen des Oberkörpers bedacht - mir persönlich wäre es lieber sie komplett zu sehen oder wenn schon einen Großaufnahme, dann von ihren unwahrscheinlich schnellen Füßen.

Die auf dem Video zu sehenden Stücke können von mir leider kein uneingeschränktes Lob erhalten. Teilweise scheint mir die Koregraphie recht gewöhnungsbedürftig zu sein - das mag aber auch an der bereits angesprochenen Qualität des Videos liegen. Außer Irischem Tanz sind auch andere Stilelemente wie American Tap, Flamenco und Ballet enthalten. Insbesondere die drei Ballettänzerinnen tauchen des öfteren auf. Zu meinen Favoriten bei den einzelnen Stücken gehören "Ceili Time in Ireland" und "Celebrating Rhythms". In "Celebrating Rhythms zeigt der Star der Show Aisling Holly zum einen was sie kann, zum anderen finde ich die Idee mit Holzlöffeln (wie man sie vom Kochen kennt) zusätzliche rhytmische Geräusche zu machen recht witzig.

Wo wir gerade bei Aisling Holly sind. Diese Frau ist einfach nur unglaublich schnell. Das Video wird ihrem Können aber nicht wirklich gerecht. Trotzdem bekommt man einen guten Eindruck davon was diese junge Tänzer zu Leisten in der Lage ist. Leider sind die Kostüme die sie trägt nicht immer besonders schön, was im übrigen auch für den Rest der Truppe gilt. Ein letzter Kritikpunkt sind die Sänger der Show. Die Version von "She moved through the Fair", den LOTD Fans mit abgeändertem Text als "Our Wedding Day" bekannt, hat mich nicht gerade vom Hocker gerissen. Vielleicht liegt das aber nur daran, daß ich "Our Wedding Day" von Anne Buckley gesungen einfach schon zu oft gehört habe. Als recht schwach muss ich jedoch die Leistung des Sängers bezeichnen. In "The Great Hunger" scheint er doch deutliche Probleme zu haben die höheren Töne so treffen. Dafür gefällt mir das was die "Tin Whistle" Spielerin im Finale abliefert um so besser.

Zur Story gibt es nicht sonderlich viel zu sagen. Ehrlich gesagt konnte ich keine erkennen. Außer einer Erzählung über die große Hungersnot in Irland im 19. Jahrhundert war kaum was von Handlung zu sehen. Laut der offiziellen Webseite geht es jedoch um die ständige Wanderung der Kelten durch die Geschichte. Eine detailliertere Beschreibung der einzelnen Stücke ist unter folgendem Link zu finden: http://www.rhythmofthedance.com/frame-show.html.

Alles in allem ist Rhythm of the Dance sicherlich nicht so schlecht wie sich das jetzt vielleicht anhören mag. Zum einen habe ich wie schon gesagt nur eine gekürzte Fassung eines nicht so überragenden Videos gesehen. Außerdem habe ich mir sagen lassen, dass sich die eigentliche Live-Show um einiges geändert und auch verbessert hat. Das Video kann übrigens auf der offiziellen Webseite von ROTD bestellt werden. Wenn ich eine abschließende Bewertung abgeben müsste würde ich der Show 3 von 5 möglichen Punkten geben. Also man sollte sich das ganze bei Gelegenheit ruhig einmal live ansehen.

.

Weiterführenden Links:

Die offizielle Seite von Rhythm of the Dance: http://www.rhythmofthedance.com
Tourdaten auf den Seiten des Celtic Cafe: http://www.celticcafe.com/Schedules/rotdeu.htm
Interview mir Aisling Holly ebenfalls beim Celtic Cafe: http://www.celticcafe.com/shows/rotd/aisling.htm
Eine Kritik die etwas besser ausgefallen ist: http://www.celticcafe.com/ROTD/rhythm.html

Rhythm of the Dance CD bei Amazon.de bestellten:

Rhythm of the Dance - CD

 

zurück zu den anderen Shows

Wenn diese Seite in den Frames einer anderen Webseite angezeigt wird oder sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier.