General Information Content Biographies Review Official Website

.

Riverdance - The Show

.

30th of April 1994 - Dublin, Ireland: 300 million people are sitting in front of their TVs and are watching the Grand Prix d'Eurovision. This day is the birthday of Riverdance. Together with a handfull of Irish dancers and the group Anúna, Michael Flatley and Jean Butler fascinate the European audience. The original number was 7 minutes long, but due to the huge success producer Moya Doherty, director John McColgan and composer Bill Whelan created a two hour show full of Irish Dance and Irish music.

On the 9th Febuary 1995, after many TV appearances of the 7 minute piece,  Riverdance - The Show premiered in the Point Theatre in Dublin. Right away the show broke all records regarding the ticket sales. After Dublin Riverdance went to London with ten scheduled shows - the run was extended to 150 shows because of the huge demand. Riverdance - The Show does not only concentrate on Irish Dance, there is also Flamenco, Russian ballet and of course a lot of singing.

After Michael Flatley left the show, Colin Dunne danced the lead role and he did not disappoint his audience. March 1996 Riverdance first came to the United States. Just like in Europe, Riverdance was a huge success in the USA too. Sold out shows every night and record breaking ticket and merchandise sales. In July 1997 Riverdance opened its first German Tour in Oberhausen - now it´s the best known and probably most popular show in Germany.

At the moment there are three touring dance companies: The Liffey (Europe, Asia), The Lagan (America) and The Shannon (formerly "The Lee", Broadway New York City) - all named after Irish rivers. All three companies are still fascinating hundreds of thounsands of people all over the planet - more than 7 years after it was born. That is certainly a record too.

There is no story with real characters like in other shows (e.g. Gaelforce Dance). The first act plays in the home country of the Irish peoples and act two tells the story of Irish emmigrants, driven out of their own country by famine and terror, and their encounters with new cultures. Since the first show in Dublin and now there have been many changes, especially if you compare the new video (filmed at Radio City Music Hall with Colin Dunne) and the old video (with Michael Flatley). Not only the videos are different. The Shannon company presents a different show than The Lagan and The Liffey.  In the  "Content" section you will get a listing of the two current versions of Riverdance.

Two CDs of the Show are available - RD on Broadway and Riverdance - The Show.

.

All images used by kind permission of Riverdance.

Links:
Latest Tourdates: http://www.celticcafe.com/Schedules/tourguide.htm
Photos of the show (c) Marnix: http://www.geocities.com/ResearchTriangle/Node/8318/riverdance/index2.htm

.

Back to the other shows

Click here to break out of someone else's frames or if you cannot see a navigation bar on the left hand side.

Allgemeines Inhalt Biographien Kritik Offizielle Seite

.

Riverdance - Die Show

.

30. April 1994 - Dublin, Irland: 300 Millionen Menschen sehen den Grand Prix d'Eurovision an ihren Fernsehern. Dieser Tag ist der Geburtstag von Riverdance. Michael Flatley und Jean Butler faszinieren zusammen mit einer handvoll Irischen Tänzern und der Musikgruppe Anúna ganz Europa. Die ursprünglich 7 minütige Nummer war vielen aber nicht genug. Also entschlossen sich Produzentin Moya Doherty, Regisseur John McColgan und Komponist Bill Whelan eine abendfüllende Show zu kreieren.

Am 9. Februar 1995  war es dann (nach unzähligen Auftritten der 7 Minuten Nummer) endlich soweit: Premiere der Show im Point Theatre in Dublin. Von Anfang an wurden alle Rekorde was Verkaufszahlen von Tickets angeht gebrochen. Die darauffolgenden Aufführungen in London wurden von 10 auf 150 erhöht. Riverdance - Die Show bietet allerdings mehr als nur Irischen Tanz: American Tap, Russisches Ballett, Flamenco und natürlich viel Gesang sind auch mit dabei.

Im März 1996 sollte die Show erstmals in die USA kommen, als Michael Flatley recht kurzfristig absprang. Da ihm die kreative Kontrolle (er koreographierte große Teile der Show) nicht zugesprochen wurde, wie er selber sagt. Daraufhin sprang Colin Dunne für ihn ein und er enttäuschte das Publikum nicht. Auch in den USA war Riverdance ein riesen Erfolg, brach alle möglichen Verkaufsrekorde was Tickets, CDs und Videos angeht.

Im July 1997 konnte endlich auch Deutschland Riverdance bewundern und ist hier zu einer der beliebtesten Shows geworden. Inzwischen gibt es drei Truppen: Die Liffey (Europa, Asien), Lagan (Amerika) und Shannon (ehemals "Lee", Broadway New York City). Alle drei "Companies" feiern auf der ganzen Welt immer noch große Erfolge - und das nach fast 7 Jahren seit der Geburt von Riverdance.

Im großen und ganzen wird die Geschichte Irischer Auswanderer die nach Amerika gehen erzählt, dabei spielt der erste Akt in der Heimat und der zweite Akt in der neuen Welt, wo die Einwanderer neuen Kulturen begegnen. Im Laufe der Zeit haben sich einige Veränderungen ergeben, vor allem wenn man das neue Video (mit Colin Dunne)  mit dem alten Video (mit Michael Flatley) vergleicht. Nicht nur die Videos sind verschieden. Insbesondere die Shannon Company am Broadway hat einige komplett neue Sachen zu bieten. Im Abschnitt "Inhalt" ist eine Auflistung der Stücke der aktuellen Versionen zu finden.

Es sind zwei CDs zur Show erhältlich, eine normale und die Broadway Version.

.

Alle Bilder wurden mir freundlicherweise von Riverdance zur Verfügung gestellt.

Links:
Aktuelle Tourdaten: http://www.celticcafe.com/Schedules/tourguide.htm
Bilder von der Show (c) Marnix: http://www.geocities.com/ResearchTriangle/Node/8318/riverdance/index2.htm

.


Riverdance - DVD

Riverdance - VHS

Riverdance on Broadway - CD

.

zurück zu den anderen Shows

Wenn diese Seite in den Frames einer anderen Webseite angezeigt wird oder sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier.