General Information Content Biographies Review Official Website

 

Riverdance - Review

Shortly after I have seen Lord of the Dance on TV and before I had purchases the LOTD video, Riverdance was aired. First I thought that was the same show that I had seen only a few days ago, but I soon realized that this show is different. Different stage, different music, different dancers - BUT also great Irish Dancing!.

Riverdance is certainly an outstanding show! In many numbers Michael Flatley's influence still can be seen - he was responsibly for the coreography of most of the Irish Dance parts (except the numbers that were added after he left the show of course). Like many of the other shows, one has to see Riverdance live and enjoy the atmosphere in the venue, when thousands of people are cheering and yelling.

The video that is aired regularly, is a shortened version of that video that was recorded at Radio City Music Hall, New York City. Colin Dunne and Jean Butler are the principal dancers. It is available as DVD and VHS video. The original video with Flatley - as far as I know - is not sold anymore (well, itīs pretty hard to find it at least).

There is only one thing that I personally did not like very much: besides the Irish Dancing there is a variety of other dance forms, like Flamenco or Russian ballet. Thatīs not quite what I want to see, because I am just crazy about Irish Dancing (although I must admit that especially the Russians were excellent!). For people who like dance in general, this will probably an advantage, because they get to see a bigger variety of dance forms and the main theme is still Irish.

My recommendation: go and see the show live! Certainly an evening youīll never forget!

 

All images used by kind permission of Riverdance.

Back to the other shows

Click here to break out of someone else's frames or if you cannot see a navigation bar on the left hand side.

Allgemeines Inhalt Biographien Kritik Offizielle Seite

 

Riverdance - Kritik

Unmittelbar nachdem ich Lord of the Dance im Fernsehen gesehen habe und noch bevor ich das LOTD Video in Händen hielt, kam auch Riverdance im Fernsehen. Zunächst dachte ich, das wäre das gleiche, das ich nur einige Tage zuvor gesehen hatte, jedoch bemerkte ich schnell den Unterschied. Andere Bühne, andere Haupttänzer andere Musik.

Nichtsdestotrotz ist die Show absolute Spitzenklasse! Was Musik und Choreographie angeht kann es mit Lord of the Dance ohne weiteres mithalten. Bei vielen Nummern kann man klar noch die Handschrift von Michael Flatley erkennen, der viel bei der Show mitchoreographiert hat. Wie bei allen anderen Shows auch, muss man Riverdance einfach live gesehen haben. Inzwischen bin ich bei zwei Shows angekommen.

Das Video, das im Fernsehen regelmäßig ausgestrahlt ist eine gekürzte Version der Aufzeichung aus der Radio City Music Hall, New York City. Colin Dunne und Jean Butler tanzen darin die Hauptrolle. Es ist als DVD und VHS Kassette erhältlich. Die ursprüngliche Version ist noch mit Michael Flatley, aber meines Wissens wird diese Video nicht mehr verkauft (oder es ist zumindest sehr schwer zu finden).

Einen Kritikpunkt muss ich nun aber doch loswerden. Neben dem Irischen Tanz wird auch sehr viel "Nicht-Irisches" geboten, so z.B. Flamenco, Russisches Ballett. Das ist nicht ganz das was ich persönlich sehen will. Ich selbst bin halt einfach komplett in den Irischen Tanz vernarrt, insbesondere mit den Hardshoes. Leute die Tanz allgemein gern mögen wird das wohl kaum stören, aber Riverdance wird darum wohl nie meine Lieblingsshow werden.

Trotzdem kann ich nur eins empfehlen: unbedingt ansehen - am besten live!

 

Alle Bilder wurden mir freundlicherweise von Riverdance zur Verfügung gestellt.

zurück zu den anderen Shows

Wenn diese Seite in den Frames einer anderen Webseite angezeigt wird oder sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier.