General Information Content Show Report Erfurt Galleries Official Site

 

Feet of Flames 2000 - Show Report Erfurt

 

I have written the following show report after the premiere of the Show in Erfurt. Some of the information is not quite up-to-date anymore, but it will give you an idea what the shows is like.

ACT 1
 

1 Court of the High Kings The Dancers come onstage in Egyptian costumes, the guys dressed as soldiers and the girls as..uhm..I donīt know what that is sopposed to be..very Egyptian. Anne comes on stage too and Helen as "Jester" in her "harlekin"(?) costume..Some guys with golden costumes and masks come on stage (the high kings) and they all start some sort of singing..uhm..sounds quite interesting.. 

2 Firedance The music changes, some of the dancers start dancing very slowly but one cannot see the feet because of the costumes. They left the stage pretty quickly before Michael Flatley comes on stage with some nice pyros..the music sounds quite Irish and after a while the other dancers join him again, very similar to COTC, but I liked COTC better..but Firedance is still a good new piece.. 

3 The Irish Queen - Maghdainn Mara Anne sings the 2nd song of FOF in HP..the Gaelic one. She has a different costume..sheīs great as usual.. 

4 Dance of the Swans Music and coreography are different compared to Celtic Dream, but itīs the same style..softshoe. Itīs a nice new number..not better but also not worse than the original. 

5 Warriors I didnīt notice any new coreography..as good as always, the costumes have changed a bit though. Not the carmouflage stuff, looked a bit like the original black pants they had in the first video.  Steven Brunning is a good bad guy, although I would have preferred Derek Moran...[after having seen many more shows, I think Steven Brunning is at least as good as Derek! really great!]  

6 Cleopatraīs spell Replaces Gypsy..hmm, this one was also very Egyptian, but the dance was Irish softshoe like. Kristen danced on Friday and Gwenno Saunders on Saturday..the bad girl ist not alone on stage, there are 4 or 5 more "bad girls" from the troupe too. Itīs not bad, but I liked Gypsy better. 

7 Fire Strings The same as in the original FOF. Maireadīs and Coraīs costumes are different..not bad :-). On Saturday when I was sitting in front row Mairead looked in my direction and said "hi"..not sure if she meant me. Wonder if she recognized me..hmmm...well I waved at her and she also got a WOOOHOOO ;-) 

8 Strip Jig Formerly Breakout, nothing really changed there. New costumes, but they are vey similar to the ones in the original FOF.. 

9 Warlords Didnīt notice any changes... 

10 The Irish Queen - Marble Halls Anne sings the first song of FOF in Hyde Park... 

11 Kaleidoscope Thatīs Siamsa. New costumes that I didnīt really like..most of the time itīs pretty dark on stage, except for lots of UV light, so the costumes are kind of glowing in the dark..I didnīt notice any changes in coreography. [This was not Siamsa at the end of the tour anymore - new music, new choreography] 

12 Celtic Fire The Flute Jam. It begins pretty cool with Gerard Fahy and Dave Keary(?) coming on stage and playing on their E-guitars..after that the other musicians come on stage (fiddlers, MF and the bass guitar player)..it ends with some nice pyros..BANG!..Geeeez, this time they got me..on both days! Jumping Philipp eh! ;-)

 

ACT 2
 

1 The High Kings Thatīs High Priests from FOF in HP. But..argh..not the singers from Hyde Park (tis was recorded). I hope the dancers will get some lessons in lip synching before I see them again..hmm 

2 Jesters Capture Thatīs Dangerous Game..same music, but played on an e-guitar. The coreography changed too. Less dancing, but itīs still very good, I liked the changes..it ends with a "frozen Jester"..that was an interesting change, although I liked the original version with the broken flute better. 

3 Hells Kitchen I like it when the good guys come on stage, that was pretty different..hmm, ..they kinda "marched" on stage..the rest is almost the same. MF didnīt have to fix a flute, but the rescued the frozen Jester after that number. You could hear that flute piece while he was doing that..(I think that part was called Spiritīs Lament). 

4 Shalamar Bad girl alone on stage, music is the same as in Gypsy, just shorter I think..it was rearranged with different instruments, some sort of flute ..Oh and coreography is different too. The costume was one of the Egypian looking ones. Well, Iīm not quite sure what to think of it..the original Gypsy was better IMO.. 

5 The Swanīs Dream Thatīs MFīs flute solo. The good girl is on stage too.."sleeping" on a pillow. That was a neat change..I liked it. 

6 Thunder&Lightning Thatīs just WOOOOHOOOOO!...Itīs completely new. The music is great and so is the dancing! About 8 good girls start. Then the same number of bad girls comes on stage (while the good ones leave). After that both groups are on stage. It ends with both groups saluting... Itīs a bit like one number in Gaelforce. VERY similar actually.. 

7 The Irish Queen - Carrickfergus Anne again..my favourite song :-) 

8 Stolen Kiss/ Cleopatraīs Spell OK..now here comes the part I donīt like at all. It starts like the Stolen Kiss you all know. The music changes when "Cleopatra" comes on stage. Not Irish at all. MF dances with her..remids me a bit of "Dirty Dancing" or Lambada. There are some Flamenco elements too..Well, uh..I didnīt like it at all. Then they change back to the original..hmm, well...itīs VERY UNUSUAL..  

9 Jesterīs Nightmare Bad guys come on stage, and seize MF and Jester. They take MF backstage..and Jester is brought to the scaffold and  The Dark Lord is getting ready for the execution. The music is the same as in the original, but there is no dancing, only shortly before the music stops..

OK, you should NOT read the next part if you want a surprise..it is kinda surprising ;-)

************************

The Dark Lord is wearing a black mask over his whole head now. After the music stops, itīs getting quite dark on stage and Jester screams. Iīll come back to this part later. Now a really strange music starts, an axe is brought on stage and the bad guy takes in an starts a really weird walk to the scaffold. He raises his axe and BAAAAAAAANG! Another explosion! Jester is surprised and the executioner removes his mask...et voilā..itīs Michael. Happy Jester hugs him and the bad guy runs on the stage...and heīs really pi***d off eh ;-)

They did the change when the lights went out and Jester screamed. You can see it, but everyone looks to Jester at that moment, and like I said itīs quite dark on stage..well I didnīt see it LOL, looked somewhere else in both shows..stoopid MOI

************************

If you didnīt read the part above..well, Jester and MF survive. I absolutley didnīt like that piece, it was really bad IMO, and many others had the same opinion..well not the Norwegian ladies, but Ina will tell you that later I guess ;-) 

10 The Duel The Duel starts, same sound effects, and the coreography is almost the same. It is shorter though..end ends with a big BAAAANG again..Good girl comes on stage, kiss..and... 

11 The Vicotory March begins. 

12 Victory I didnīt notice any changes there. As good as usual. The costumes are similar to the one in FOF HP. On Saturday a woman and a little girl brough MF some flowers.. he hugged the little girl..cute :) 

13 Feet of Flames MFīs solo. I didnīt really like that part in the video, but boy this guy is good! Although he was wearing his darned hat again! I really wished he had danced more in the show, instead of doing his boxing stuff again..hmm 

14 Planet Ireland Costumes are a bit different, and they dance on 3 levels at the end. No changes in coreography as far as I noticed

THE END

On both days we got two encores. First night Kristen Butke (bad girl) and Kate Gourley (good girl) danced the leads, and on Saturday it was Gwenno Saunders as Cleopatra and Ciara Scott as "Swan"..Steven Brunning was bad guy on both days. The show is a lot different now, and I didnīt like maybe 80% of the changes..I think LOTD or the original FOF are a lot better! They still want to do a lot of changes and we could already see some little differences on Saturday. The problem is not that they made changes at all! Thunder&Lightning was just great as I already said, and if it had replaced Breakout for instance I wouldnīt be too upset about it. Itīs just that..I didnīt like many of the changes, but I already said that..hmm. Well go and see the show yourself. Itīs still a very good show!

 

back to the other shows

Click here to break out of someone else's frames or if you cannot see a navigation bar on the left hand side.

Allgemeines Inhalt Show Report Erfurt Galerien Offizielle Seite

 

Feet of Flames 2000 - Show Report Erfurt

 

Den folgenden Show Report habe ich kurz nach der Premiere von Feet of Flames 2000 in Erfurt verfasst. Ich vergleiche dabei alles vor allem mit Feet of Flames Hyde Park (FOF HP).

 

Akt 1
 

1 Court of the High Kings Die Tänzer betreten in ägyptisch aussehenden Kostümen die Bühne, die Jungs sind als Soldaten verkleidet, die Mädels als..ehm...keine Ahnung was das genau sein soll - sehr ägyptisch auf jeden Fall. Anne Buckley ist da und auch Helen Egan kommt als Jester in einem Harlekins Kostüm auf die Bühne. Ein paar Kerle mit goldenen Kostümen tauchen auf und beginnen einen Gesang, der sehr dem der "High Priests" aus FOF Hyde Park ähnelt.

2 Firedance Plötzlich andere Musik und die Tänzer fangen langsam zu tanzen an, aber leider kann man die Füße nicht sehen, weil die Kostüme sehr lang sind. Die Bühne leert sich dann recht schnell und BANG - Flatley betritt die Bühne. Die Musik hört sich jetzt endlich so richt Irisch an und nach einiger Zeit kommen auch die anderen Tänzer (diesmal ohne lange Mäntel) auf die Bühne. Es ähnelt Cry of the Celts (was ich auch lieber mag), aber Firedance ist sicherlich ein gutes neues Eröffnungstück.

3 The Irish Queen - Maghdainn Mara Anne Buckley singt den zweiten Song aus FOF HP, den in Gälisch. Anne hat jetzt ein anderes Kostüm - sie ist einfach Klasse - wie immer!

 4 Dance of the Swans Die Musik und Choreographie sind anders als bei Celtic Dream, aber es ist die gleiche Stilrichtung - in Softshoe getanzt. Ein nettes neues Stück, weder eine Steigerung, noch eine Verschlechterung im Vergleich zu Celtic Dream.

5 Warriors Ich konnte hier keine Unterschiede in der Choreographie bemerken, jedoch sind die Kostüme etwas anders. Nicht mehr die Flecktarn Hosen, dafür einfache schwarze Hosen wie sie sie im ersten Video trugen. Steven Brunning ist ein "guter Bösewicht", allerdings hätte ich Derek Moran bevorzugt [nachdem ich die Show nun öfter gesehen habe, muss ich sagen das Steven Derek nun in nichts mehr nachsteht!]

6 Cleopatra´s spell Anstelle von "Gypsy"...hmm, auch sehr Orientalisch - in Softshoes. Kristen tanzte am Freitag und Gwenno Saunders am Samstag. Das böse Mädchen ist nicht allein auf der Bühne, sondern wird von 4 oder 5 anderen Tänzerinnen unterstützt. Nicht schlecht, aber mit hat Gypsy besser gefallen.

7 Fire Strings Wie in FOF HP. Cora's und Mairead's Kostüme sind anders, gefallen mir aber sehr gut. Als ich Samstag in der ersten Reihe saß, blickte Mairead in meine Richtung und sagte "Hi!". Keine Ahnung ob sie mich gemeint hat, aber ich hab ihr trotzdem gewunken und sie bekam auch ein WOOOOHOOO von mir ;-)

8 Strip Jig Wie Breakout, aber keine großartigen Veränderungen bis auf den Namen. Die Kostüme waren ein wenig anders, aber sahen denen vom original FOF sehr ähnlich.

9 Warlords Keine bedeutenden Veränderungen ... 

10 The Irish Queen - Marble Halls Anne singt den ersten Song von FOF HP 

11 Kaleidoscope Das ist Siamsa. Neue Kostüme die mir nicht wirklich gefallen haben. Leider ist die Bühne meist sehr dunkel bis auf die UV Beleuchtung, die die Kostüme regelrecht glühen lässt. Keine Unterschiede in der Choreographie [Inzwischen gibt es aber neue Musik UND Choreographie. Das wurde nach einiger Zeit eingeführt. Das erste mal hab ich sie in Rotterdam im Mai 2000 gesehen.]

12 Celtic Fire Der Flute Jam. Fängt echt cool mit Gérard Fahy und Dave Keary (?) and die ein recht schräges E-Gitarren Solo beginnen. Kurz danach kommen aber auch die Geigerinnen, der Bass Gitarrist und Flatley mit Flöte auf die Bühne. Das Stück endet mit ein paar netten Pyroeffekten ... BANG, ich bin an beiden Tagen erschrocken und vom Stuhl gesprungen! ;-)

 

ACT 2
 

1 The High Kings Das ist High Priests von FOF HP, aber... argh... nicht mit den Sängern vom Hyde Park (Aufzeichnung!). Es waren einfach nur Tänzer in den goldenen Kostümen - ich hoffe die lernen ein bisschen besser nach Playback zu singen bevor ich sie wieder sehe.

2 Jesters Capture Das ist Dangerous Game - gleiche Musik aber auf einer E-Gitarre gespielt. Die Choreographie ist anders. Weniger Tanzen, aber es ist immer noch sehr gut. Es endet mit einem eingeforenem "Jester" - eine interessante Änderung, obwohl ich das Original mit der zerbrochenen Flöte lieber hatte.

3 Hells Kitchen Es sieht einfach klasse aus wenn die Gute auf die Bühne kommen. Sie "marschieren" zu einer tollen Musik... der Rest ist in etwa gleich geblieben. MF musst nur keine Flöte reparieren sondern den eingefrorenen Jester auftauen.

4 Shalamar Die "Böse" allein auf der Bühne zur Musik von Gypsy. Gespielt wird allerdings auf einer Art Panflöte und auch die Choreographie und das Kostüm sind ist anders - mal wieder sehr Ägyptisch. Bin mir nicht ganz sicher was ich davon halten soll, Gypsy hat mir jedenfalls besser gefallen.

5 The Swan´s Dream MFs Flötensolo nur schläft der "Swan" vor ihm auf einem weißen Kissen. Eine nette Änderung, hat mir gut gefallen. 

6 Thunder & Lightning Das ist einfach nur WOOOOW! Eine komplett neue Nummer. 8 gute Mädels beginnen zu tanzen und werden kurz danach von 8 Bösen abgelöst. Nach einiger Zeit sind beide Gruppen auf der Bühne und am Ende salutieren sie alle. Wirklich ein Highlight der Show! 

7 The Irish Queen - Carrickfergus Anne mal wieder - mit meinem Lieblingslied :-) 

8 Stolen Kiss/ Cleopatra´s Spell Dieses Stück mag ich absolut gar nicht. Es fängt an wie Stolen Kiss aber dann kommt Cleopatra auf die Bühne und die Musik ändert sich komplett - Flamenco mässig. Flatley tanzt mit Cleo, allerdings hat das nicht viel mit Irischem Tanz zu tun... erinnert mich eher an "Dirty Dancing" oder Lambada! Dann wird auf die Originalmusik umgesprungen und Cleo's Fluch ist gebrochen. Hmm, alles sehr ungewöhlich!

9 Jester´s Nightmare Böse Jungs nehmen MF und Jester gefangen. Sie bringen Flatley hinter die Bühne und Jester auf ein Schaffot. Der Dark Lord bereitet sich auf die Exekution vor. Die Musik ist wie im Original nur kaum Tanz dazu.. Dann hält die Musik an. Der Jester schreit und es wird dunkel...

So, hier sollten sie nicht weiterlesen wenn Sie nicht die ganze Überraschung verdorben haben wollen - es ist ein wenig überraschend ;-)

************************

Der Dark Lord trägt inzwischen eine schwarze Maske über seinem Kopf. Nachdem Schrei fängt eine recht eigenartige Musik an und der Bösewicht schreitet zum Schaffot. Er erhebt die Axt und...BAAANG!! Wieder eine Explosion! Jester ist ganz erstaunt und der Henker entfernt seine Maske .. TATAAA...es ist Flatley. Der Trick ist recht simpel. Als Helen schreit tauschen Steven und Michael die Plätze.

Der Bösewicht taucht wieder auf und ist stinksauer!

************************

Wenn sie den Teil oben nicht gelesen haben: der Gute schaffts :-) Dieses Stück hat mir auch überhaupt nicht gefallen, vor allem die Musik nicht! Viele waren der gleichen Meinung, aber es gab einige Leuten denen es auch gefallen hat. 

10 The Duel Das Duell beginnt. Andere Choreographie und etwas kürzer. Am Ende wieder die obligatorische Explosion, gutes Mädchen kommt auf die Bühne, Kuss und...

11 The Vicotory March ...geht los 

12 Victory Hab keine Veränderungen bemerkt. Gut wie immer! Die Kostüme sind denen vom HP recht ähnlich. Am Samstag sind eine Frau und ein kleines Mädchen zur Bühne und haben Flatley Blumen gegeben. MF hat das Mädchen umarmt und ihr einen Kuss gegeben... wie niedlich ;-)

13 Feet of Flames MFs Solo. Mir hat dieser Teil im Video eigentlich nie sonderlich gefallen, aber es live zu sehen war schon Klasse! Wäre schön wenn Flatley mehr getanzt hätte anstelle immer diese Boxbewegungen zu machen! 

14 Planet Ireland Etwas andere Kostüme und am Ende wird nur auf 3 Ebenen getanzt.

DAS ENDE

 

An beiden Tage bekamen wir zwei Zugaben. In der ersten Nacht haben Kristen Butke (böse) und Kate Gourley (gut) die Leads getanzt und am Samstag waren es Gwenno Saunders (böse) und Ciara Scott als Swan. Steven Brunning war der Bösewicht an beiden Tagen. Die Show ist doch ziehmlich anders und mir haben vielleicht 80% der Änderungen nicht gefallen... LOTD und FOF HP gefallen mir wesentlich besser. Es sollen wohl noch mehr Änderungen mit einfließen [Kaleidoscope!]. Das Problem ist nicht das Änderungen gemacht wurden. Wäre zum Beispiel Breakout für Thunder & Lightning rausgeflogen würde ich nicht beschweren - aber nicht etwa weil Breakout so schlecht ist, sonder weil T & L einfach so gut ist! Mir haben einfach einige Änderungen nicht so gut gefallen, vor allem weil der Irische Tanz weniger wurde.

Es ist aber immer noch eine sehr gute Show und am besten sollte man sie sich selbst ansehen um sich ein Urteil zu bilden. Anderen hat es schließlich besser gefallen!

 

zurück zu den anderen Shows

Wenn diese Seite in den Frames einer anderen Webseite angezeigt wird oder sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier.