General Information Content

.

Dancing on Dangerous Ground
with Jean Butler and Colin Dunne

.

After Jean Butler and Colin Dunne had left Riverdance and made a longer break, they created their very own Irish dance show, which had its premiere in London in December 1999 - Dancing on Dangerous Ground. The plot is based on an old celtic legend: "The Hunt for Diarmuid and Grania".
.

Grania is the daughter of king Cormac MacAirt and she is supposed to marry Finn McCool, leader of The Fianna (the fearless army that is protecting Ireland). But Grania falls in love with Diarmuid, the bravest warrior of The Fianna. After the wedding Diarmuid and Grania have to flee from Grania's husband Finn... and who wants to know how the story ends will have to watch the video. 

.

Many of the dancers already had some stage experience, since they came from Shows like Riverdance. Sorcha McCaul for example, who is dancing one of the lead roles (Deirdru), was formerly a member of the Riverdance troupe. For others it was the first time on stage and their great chance to take part in the huge success of Irish dance shows. Unfortunately that didnīt happen... After the first shows in London, DODG got some pretty bad reviews. After London the Troupe moved to New York City where they got much better reviews, but the planned tour in America never took place - the show probably ran out of money. Now the show doesn't exist anymore - even their website is offline - unfortunately...

.

I wonder if critics saw the same show that I have got on DVD. In my opinion Dancing on Dangerous Ground is just brilliant! There is the great choreography and also the wonderful music of Seamus Egan. There are similarities to other shows of course, but there are also a lot of new elements in the show, which I had never seen before in any other dance show. DODG is really innovative and not just copying shows like LOTD or Riverdance.

.

This is the point where I usually say "Go and see the show live!", but as I said, that is not possible anymore. There is good news though: a video and DVD are available in Europe (PAL and Region 2 coding!) In Germany one can buy the DVD and VHS version in the shops. Further down is a link to Amazon GERMANY  where one can order the video and the DVD online. The DVD has got some extra footage on it, like the Making of "Dare to Dance" and multiple camera angles.

PAL versions! Region 2 coding!


Dancing on Dangerous Ground - DVD

Dancing on Dangerous Ground - VHS

.PAL versions! Region 2 coding!

.

To the other shows.

 .

Click here to break out of someone else's frames or if you cannot see a navigation bar on the left hand side.

Allgemeines Die einzelnen Stücke

.

Dancing on Dangerous Ground
von und mit Jean Butler und Colin Dunne

.

Nachdem Jean Butler und Colin Dunne Riverdance verlassen hatten und eine etwas längere Pause gemacht hatten, kreierten sie eine neue Tanzshow, die Dezember 1999 ihre Premiere in London hatte - Dancing on Dangerous Ground. Die Handlung basiert auf einer keltischen Legende: "Die Jagd nach Diarmuid und Grania".
.

Grania ist die Tochter des Königs Cormac MacAirt und soll Finn McCool, den Anführer der Fianna (das furchtlose stehende Heer das Irland vor Invasionen schützen soll), heiraten. Jedoch verliebt sich Grania in Diarmuid, den mutigsten Krieger der Fianna. Nach der Hochzeit flieht das Liebespaar vor dem erzürnten Ehemann, der auf blutige Rache aus ist... Und wer wissen möchte wie die Geschichte ausgeht, sollte sich das Video selbst ansehen.

.

Viele der Tänzer hatten bereits die Möglichkeit in Shows wie Riverdance Erfahrung zu sammeln, wie z.B. Sorcha McCaul, die in einer der Hauptrollen brilliert. Andere standen noch nie auf der Bühne und für sie war DODG eine erste Gelegenheit am Erfolg der vielen Irischen Tanzshows teilzuhaben. Leider sollte es anders kommen... Schon nach den ersten Auftritten zerissen Kritiker die Show. Nach den Shows in London verlegte die Ganze Truppe nach New York City, wo die Kritiken dann deutlich besser ausfielen. Die anschließend geplante Tour musste dann jedoch wegen Geldsorgen aufgegeben werden. Ob nun die schlechten Kritiken oder einfach Fehlplanungen der Show das Genick gebrochen haben ist mir nicht bekannt. Tatsache ist, dass es die Show nicht mehr gibt (sogar die Webseite ist inzwischen offline). Leider muss ich sagen...

.

Ich frage mich ob die Kritiker dieselbe Show gesehen haben, die ich auf DVD habe. Meiner Meinung nach ist DODG einfach nur brillant. Das fängt bei der Choreographie an und hört bei der genialen Musik von Seamus Egan auf. Sicherlich sind wieder Ähnlichkeiten zu anderen bekannten Shows zu erkennen, jedoch sind auch sehr viele neue Elemente enthalten, die ich bisher noch in keiner Tanzshow entdeckt habe. Damit bietet DODG endlich etwas neues, nicht so wie einige andere Shows, die oft nur ein Abklatsch von LOTD und Riverdance sind.

.

Ich kann nun leider keine Empfehlung aussprechen sich die Show mal LIVE anzusehen, da die Show wie gesagt nicht mehr auf Tour ist. Aber die gute Nachricht ist, dass es ein Video bzw. eine DVD gibt. In Deutschland kann man die DVD z.B. bei Media Markt erwerben. Weiter unten habe ich einen Link zu Amazon.de, wo es ebenfalls bestellt werden kann. Auf der DVD ist übrigens zusätzlich ein sehr interessantes Making Of mit dem Namen "Dare to Dance" enthalten. 

.


Dancing on Dangerous Ground - DVD

Dancing on Dangerous Ground - VHS

.

Zu den anderen Shows.

.

Wenn diese Seite in den Frames einer anderen Webseite angezeigt wird oder sie links keine Navigationsleiste sehen, klicken Sie bitte hier.